Significant Object, Catherine Marshall

Piia has asked us, the Trailing Spouses, to think about an object which is special to them, which she has called a Significant Object.

I mulled over the question of whether or not I had a Significant Object. I like to keep postcards, photos and letters and even scraps of paper can have some sort of sentimental value to me. Then I realised, that I have still got the beer mat written on by Klaus and myself during our first date, where we were deliberating the next step of our evening/day. The time is noted as being 06.50 and it is signed by both of us. That is, I would say, a significant object, as it has survived three moves in Berlin and one to Bielefeld over a period of ten years. It lives in Klaus’ desk, an heirloom from his grandfather and shares a slim sliding drawer with a cohort of random objects: cables, keys, old train tickets, CDs, unused headphones and rather a lot of dust. I don’t think it will ever make it into a tidy scrapbook or keepsake box to be admired on its own. Part of the charm of it is that it is nice to discover, every now and then, that it is still there.

Catherine, thanks for your contribution.

See Catherine’s blog for more  http://compartmentsee.blogspot.com

Leave a comment