Hibernation

By: Piia Rossi

Jan 06 2012

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Category: Art, Global, identity, photography

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/11
Focal Length:300mm
ISO:800
Shutter:4 sec
Camera:Canon EOS DIGITAL REBEL XSi

This is a time of the year for hibernation and domesticity. Coming from Finland it is totally natural that you hibernate and do very little but the necessary to get by the long dark months. In Ireland we didn’t do that as the Irish don’t seem to hibernate. It’s possibly because the weather in Ireland is pretty much the same all year around, so the Irish socialize the same winter and summer. Here in Germany I think people hibernate more like in Finland. Bielefeld is not exactly a hub of activity even in the summer but should I brave the city in the evening this time of the year I bet I would find it empty of people. Instead people stay in their snug homes and I can really appreciate that.

I have always liked watching peoples’ houses in the dark evenings, I know there is a name for it but I justify my curiosity with an interest into humans’ need for home and safety. I’m also sure most people can’t avoid the temptation to glance at the well-lit windows  where the warm comfort is displayed like in a tv-programme where very little happens.

Leave a comment